Reflections from a milestone

My birthday is this weekend and YES I am going to have cake and I am going to l-o-v-e every bite of it…I will be sure to post a pic!

I am not a big birthday celebration kinda girl. I love celebrating other people’s birthdays but not my own and it has nothing to do with aging.  My birthday has never really been the same since I lost my mom on my 20th birthday.

My family is so wonderful they really make my birthdays so much fun.

The other reason I am not so keen on my birthday is that it means another year older….sigh.

BUT…with age comes wisdom!

I’m now almost 40 *cough*  years old (what, wait?! how did I become 40)

I have learned a thing or two:

 

Image

 

HERE IS MY LIST OF LIFE LESSONS – THINGS I’VE LEARNED (in addition to the list above):

 

-This first one is no surprise to those that know me. Somedays there is not enough Purell to calm my nerves. There are far too many icky things out there. The older I get, the more sanitizer I need.

 

-It’s better to look back on your life and celebrate the things you did instead of looking back wishing you would’ve tried those things. Life is about the moments, memories and shenanigans!

 

-I still have not learned to be patient. You would think after 3 kids that I would have a smidge of patience….nope, nada, zilch. I’m workin’ on it…be patient with me—bwahahahahhaa (ok that was super funny!)

Image

 

 

-I’ve learned that I cannot make you want to be fit and healthy. Do I want to change the world…heck yeah!! I am doing my part, person by person. No matter how much I want it for you….you have to want it for yourself. I can brainwash my children, but the rest of you guys need to want to make the change. I’m here when you’re ready!

 

-With age comes wisdom …and wrinkles….grrrrrrr-stupid wrinkles.

Too soon we get old and too late we get smart.

 

-I have finally crossed that point that the opinions of others don’t bother me.

Image

 

-Life is short friends. We have all lost someone near & dear to us. Live life. Be healthy. Be energetic. Be thankful. If you’re not then change it!

Image

 

-I always have and always will iron everything…that’s not changing anytime soon–just thought I would throw that in there. Creases and perfectly pressed clothes are cool…believe that! #weirdo

Image

-Tell people they are important, special, loved. We all need to hear it. Go on…share some love.

 

-I’ve learned being happy is easy. Think about what you have-who you have in your life-where you are…it’s all good! #bethankful

Image

-Learn the rules of life and play better!

 

Image

 

Thank you for reading this. I want you to know that I appreciate each and everyone of you.

Go celebrate my birthday with me and do a birthday workout in my honour (Canadian spelling) a round of birthday burpees for everyone!!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

